Four Eurocities members named EU innovation award finalists

11 September 2020

Four Eurocities member cities have made the list of six finalists for the European Union’s Capital of Innovation award.

Members Cluj-Napoca, Espoo, Leuven and Vienna join Valencia and Helsingborg in the running to win a €1 million prize to the city deemed the most able to improve its inhabitants’ lives through innovation. Runners-up are guaranteed to receive €100,000 for their efforts.

The award, which is funded by the EU’s Horizon2020 research and innovation programme, will go to the city that is shown to contribute the most to local innovation ecosystems, involves its inhabitants in decision making and uses innovation to improve its resilience and sustainability. The winner will be announced on September 24.

The prize money is intended to give a boost to the winning city’s innovation scene. Applications are judged by an expert panel from across Europe.

The award has been running since 2016 and is open to any city that has more than 100,000 inhabitants and is in a country involved in Horizon2020. Previous winners include Eurocities members Nantes, Paris, Amsterdam and Athens, with many more members having benefitted from funding as runners-up.

More information is available on the Capital of Innovation website.


Fraser Moore Copywriter/Editor


  • Spotlight 18 November 2020

    “Digital rights are human rights”

    The Smart City Live is taking place this week, with Eurocities as a partner. So, what better time to catch up with Laia Bonet, Deputy Mayor of Barcelona and new chair of Eurocities’ Knowledge Society forum, to talk about how to make the digital transformation fair and green.

    6 minutes read
  • News 16 November 2020

    Inspiring stories on cultural heritage

    From fortresses that rise like a phoenix from the ashes, to walls that whisper secrets of the past - this isn't a new Harry Potter novel, it's a collection of best practices on cultural heritage in the EU's cities and regions.

    1 minute read
  • Press release 5 November 2020

    Mayor of Florence elected new Eurocities President

    Dario Nardella will represent major European cities in the coming two years as President of Eurocities.

    2 minutes read
  • News 5 November 2020

    Reinventing Cities – Eurocities 2020

    What is the future of cities, recovering from COVID-19 and thinking about the opportunities to build back better? - See some outcomes of Eurocities’ annual conference on 4 and 5 November here.

    6 minutes read
  • News 5 November 2020

    Are cities ready for the future?

    In discussion with European Commission vice-president Maroš Šefčovič, Europe's major cities showed how they are instilling resilience in the core of their strategies, and made the case for stronger collaboration with the EU to ensure a sustainable urban future.

    7 minutes read
  • News 05 November 2020

    Glasgow – What does it mean to be green?

    What is Glasgow's secret to combining climate action, resilience and recovery, and making them relevant to local communities?

    2 minutes read
  • Spotlight 3 November 2020

    Interview with Greg Clark

    Greg Clark is an urbanist with more than two decades of experience. Currently leading the work of HSBC on cities and mobility, he will be moderating the first session of the Eurocities annual conference 2020 on Future cities – do cities have a future?

    2 minutes read
  • Spotlight 26 October 2020

    Privacy in the smart city

    Is there a conflict between the right to privacy and the smart city? Guest writer Chris Jones and our data policy officer tackle the topic head on.

    4 minutes read
  • News 20 October 2020

    What’s the quality of life in European cities?

    The European Commission’s ‘Report on the Quality of Life in European Cities, 2020’ is out and shares valuable insights into the state of urban affairs in Europe.

    1 minute read
  • Events 22 October 2020

    Wuhan and Tel Aviv – Digital resilience and COVID-19

    In the face of COVID-19, cities are digitalising for the health and security of their residents. Wuhan and Tel Aviv are at the forefront.

    1 minute read
  • Think global, act local

    Always a front-runner when it comes to citizen participation in civic life, Ghent is now going global, pioneering a dynamic approach to opening its citizens to the world.

    6 minutes read
  • Bursting bubbles

    How can cities recaptivate people’s interest? How can they motivate residents to get involved? How can people feel empowered to participate? Grand Paris Sud is working on it.

    7 minutes read
  • Je vote pour – I vote for

    €2.5 million of participatory budget are used in Bordeaux to finance projects proposed, promoted and chosen by locals.

    7 minutes read
  • The glass city hall

    Paweł Adamowicz, former Mayor of Gdansk, has left a lasting legacy in the city in the form of its openness policy.

    4 minutes read
  • Bialystok – Become a Hero in your city

    Offering locals money to come up with great ideas that meet their needs may sound like an easy win, but it’s not as simple as it sounds. Over several editions, Bialystok has finetuned a process that opens the door for anyone to, as they put it ‘Become a hero in your city’.

    5 minutes read
  • Healthy urban park

    Utrecht's Máximapark brings communities together and is a model of good citizen engagement.

    5 minutes read
  • Imagining the city

    Warsaw's citizen's consultations have come a long way since they were first introduced in 2008, even allowing citizens to make proposals for consultations, and running in parallel with a participatory budget.

    4 minutes read
  • Rennes, a lab for Europe

    To combat Euroscepticism while encouraging a critical engagement with the EU and European issues, Rennes created its 'Labo for Europe'. Locals can get together and get creative around their city's relationship to Europe.

    6 minutes read
  • Donostia/San Sebastian – Smart from the bottom up

    On these streets, you are walking through the past and the future at once. In a historic locality, major digital upgrades and training for locals has made for one of Europe's smartest streets.

    5 minutes read
  • Listen to the people

    Reykjavik's decade long experiment in e-democracy, is a model for a new kind of democracy.

    4 minutes read