related issues

UNESCO Creative Cities Network - update

  • culture

The UNESCO Creative Cities Network was established in 2004 to promote cooperation between cities and identify creativity as a strategic factor in city life. Currently, there are 116 cities, including many EUROCITIES members, involved across 7 categories.

'Cinema Catalunya' in Terrassa this week hosted a presentation to the public of its candidacy for the film section of the network. The film section has only 8 cities: Busan, Bradford, Galway, Santos, Bitola, Sydney, and fellow EUROITIES members Sofia and Rome. 

Speaking at the presentation event, mayor of Terrassa, Jordi Ballart, explained, “Terrassa has a life of cinema, with a national and international recent years, it has carried a clear commitment to creativity and culture, always keeping in mind the values of social justice and openness to other cultures.” The mayor also pointed out, “it is a unique opportunity to position Terrassa, to attract investment and to develop more creativity”.

Terrassa is already part of the UNESCO family with its Castells (human towers), two chairs of the Technical University (UPC), two schools (Escola Pia and Carmel) and with the Seu of Ègara, which a candidate for a world heritage site.

The presentation was accompanied by a screening of the short film 'A life of cinema in Terrassa', from local director Antoni Verdaguer.

The official decision on Cinema Catalunya's candidacy is expected towards the end of October.

You can find more information here