related issues

Discover the 28 cities running for the European Green Capital 2020 and European Green Leaf 2019 Awards!

  • environment

28 towns and cities from across 21 European countries are officially competing to win the 2020 European Green Capital and 2019 European Green Leaf Awards. This is the highest number of countries entering the competition in the history of the two initiatives. With the 2020 title, the European Green Capital Award will be celebrating 10 years, as it first started in 2010, with Stockholm as a winner.

Several EUROCITIES members are in the running for the European Green Capital Award: Budapest (Hungary), Bursa (Turkey), Ghent (Belgium), Guimarães (Portugal), Lisbon (Portugal), Reykjavik (Iceland), Seville (Spain), Tallinn (Estonia), and Wroclaw (Poland). The other cities running are: Aberdeen (United Kingdom), Lahti (Finland), Ostrava (Czech Republic), and Prato (Italy), 

For the European Green Leaf Award, the following cities are in: Avignon (France), Nagykőrös (Hungary), Serres (Greece), Joensuu (Finland), Horst aan de Maas (Netherlands), Gabrovo (Bulgaria), Mechelen (Belgium), Pärnu (Estonia), Strovolos (Cyprus), Cornellà de Llobregat (Spain), Taurage (Lithuania), Delitzsch (Germany), Valmiera (Latvia), Santarém (Portugal), and Roman (Romania).

Commissioner for the Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, Karmenu Vella reflects on this year’s applications: "This is a very special year as the European Green Capital celebrates its 10th Anniversary. Over the last decade the initiative has become a badge of honour for cities and towns. It helps them showcase and even accelerate their environmental progress. Cities are on the frontline of efforts to establish a greener future. The story over the last 10 years shows that becoming a European Green Capital or European Green Leaf Award winner means constantly pushing that frontline forward. Good luck – and thank you – to all those competing this year".

In June 2018, one city will be awarded European Green Capital 2020 and up to two smaller cities or towns could be awarded European Green Leaf 2019.


For more information:

European Green Capital Award:

European Green Leaf Award: